ReDop Networks

 Redundancy-optimized networks with savings potential

System stability with ReDop networks

System stability is one of the most important prerequisites for high-performance data center architectures. In order to guarantee uptimes of more than 99,99 % it is paramount to implement redundancy for important system areas also in spine-leaf architectures. Currently, this is realized in the Main Distribution Area (MDA) by doubling transceivers and signal paths. This doubling, however, puts additional load on the heavily used mesh layer. 

CrossCon Redundanz

Example: 2x2 Spine-Leaf-Architecture


The figure on the right shows a classical redundant architecture. There are two signal paths from each switch to the correlating switches. In case line 1 between L1 and S1 fails, the data transmission is ensured via line 2. Currently, this type of redundant signal paths is considered the standard in data center architecture. However, it implies avoidable inefficiency in signal paths and transceivers. 

ReDop ohne CrossCon



Redundancy-optimized networks (ReDop) developed by FiberCon constitute a considerable MDA optimization in 40/100G networks. Savings potential of at least 25% can, thus, be realized.
Lines 1 to 6 symbolize 8-channel trunk cables. Using the transceiver split mode, 4 channels of every cable are assigned to S1 and 4 channels to S2. In the case of a QSFP28 that means 50G data transmission to each of the two spines. Hence, lines 1 and 2 are required in order to realize 100G. 

ReDop mit CrossCon

In case of failure of one of these signal paths, it is replaced by line 3. This guarantees lossless signal transmission. The same signal distribution is applied for L2.

The CrossCon® as central component of the ReDop network assigns the signals of both leafs to the according switches, so that lines 4, 5 and 6 contain 4 channels of L1 and 4 channels of L2, respectively.

This reduction in signal paths also means a reduction in transceivers as shown in this example with 2 transceivers per signal path. It must be noted that ReDop networks are scalable in accordance with growing switch numbers as can be seen in the table below. The channel number of the QSFP transceivers used causes the current limitation in savings potential of 37,5 %. Transceivers with higher channel numbers may increase the savings potential up to 50%.  

n (Spines) M (Leafs) QSFP (old) QSFP (new) Reduction
2432248 (25 %)
26483612 (25 %)
36724824 (33,3 %)
46966036 (37,5 %)
810320200120 (37,5 %)
Logo FiberCon
Address

FiberCon GmbH
Rittershausstra├če 38
D-58708 Menden

web design templates

ReDop Netzwerke

 Redundanzoptimierte Netzwerke mit Einsparpotential

Ausfallsicherheit mit ReDop Netzwerken

Ausfallsicherheit ist eine der wichtigsten Voraussetzungen für performante Rechenzentrumsarchitekturen. Um Laufzeiten größer 99,99 % zu garantieren, ist es unausweichlich auch in Spine-Leaf Architekturen wichtige Systembereiche redundant auszulegen. In der Main Distribution Area (MDA) wird dies derzeit durch eine Dopplung der Transceiver und ihrer Signalwege realisiert. Diese Dopplung belastet das ohnehin stark beanspruchte Mesh-Layer zusätzlich. 

CrossCon Redundanz

Fallbeispiel 2x2 Spine-Leaf-Architektur


Nebenstehendes Beispiel zeigt eine klassisch, redundante Architektur. Von jedem Switch führen 2 Signalwege zu den jeweils korrelierenden Switches. Sollte zwischen L1 und S1 Leitung 1 ausfallen, so wird die Datenübertragung von Leitung 2 garantiert. Diese Art der redundanten Signalführung stellt zwar gerade den Standard in der RZ-Architektur, allerdings beinhaltet sie eine vermeidbare Ineffizienz an Signalwegen und Transceivern. 

ReDop ohne CrossCon



Die von der FiberCon entwickelten redundanzoptimierten Netzwerke (ReDop-Netzwerke) stellen eine erhebliche Optimierung der MDA in 40/100G Netzwerken dar. Mit ihnen wird ein Einsparpotential von mindestens 25 % realisiert.
Die Leitungen 1 bis 6 stellen jeweils 8-kanälige Trunkkabel dar. Mithilfe des Splitmodus der Transceiver werden jeweils 4 Kanäle jedes Kabels S1 und 4 Kanäle S2 zugeordnet. Für einen QSFP28 Transceiver bedeutet das eine Datenübertragung von 50G zu jedem der beiden Spines. Leitungen 1 und 2 werden folglich für die Realisierung von 100G benötigt. 

ReDop mit CrossCon

Fällt nun einer dieser Signalwege aus, wird dieser durch Leitung 3 ersetzt. So kann zu jedem Zeitpunkt eine verlustfreie Signalübertragung garantiert werden. Analog geschieht die Signalverteilung für L2.

Der CrossCon® als Zentralkomponente des ReDop Netzwerkes, ordnet die Signale beider Leafs den jeweiligen Switches zu, sodass die Leitungen 4, 5 und 6 nun je 4 Kanäle von L1 und 4 Kanäle von L2 beinhalten.

Diese Verminderung der Signalwege bedeutet ebenfalls eine Einsparung an Transceivern, mit je 2 Transceivern pro Signalwege in diesem Fallbeispiel. Hervorzuheben ist, dass ReDop-Netzwerke mit wachsenden Switch-Anzahlen skalieren, wie unten stehende Tabelle zeigt. Die derzeitige Begrenzung von 37,5 % des Einsparpotentials entsteht durch die Kanalanzahl der verwendeten QSFP Transceiver. Höherkanalige Transceiver können gegen ein Einsparpotential von 50 % konvergieren. 

n (Spines) M (Leafs) QSFP (alt) QSFP (neu) Reduktion
2432248 (25 %)
26483612 (25 %)
36724824 (33,3 %)
46966036 (37,5 %)
810320200120 (37,5 %)
Logo FiberCon
Anschrift

FiberCon GmbH
Rittershausstraße 38
D-58708 Menden

Rechtliches

Impressum
Datenschutz